Warning: There are an increasing number of fraudulent websites that impersonate ECCMID. We would like to alert all our members and delegates to possible scams and we strongly advise you to use only the official ECCMID online registration for your bookings.

Selective Pressure

And the winner is:

Zone of Inhibition

Congratulations to


  • Uma Chandran, Edmonton, Canada
  • Jamil Kanji, Calgary, Canada
  • Anthony Lieu, Montreal, Canada
  • Ashlesha Sonpar, Zurich, Switzerland

Impressions from the event

Photos: Thomas Ecke


The Game

Selective Pressure will be a competitive quiz show, where groups of 4 persons can apply for participation in this brand-new interactive session. Members of the ESCMID community have submitted quiz questions, and ECCMID registrants have put together their teams to compete and claim the Selective Pressure trophy.


All ECCMID participants are welcome to attend this session for an interactive educational and entertaining experience, which will take place Sunday, 16 April 2023, from 13:30 to 15:45 CEST, Hall A. There will be participation opportunities for the general attendees throughout the session. In the semi-final round, the audience will be able to cast their votes along with the official jury and have an influence on the scores of the teams. In the final round, if the teams on stage cannot answer a question it will be opened up to the audience and a correct answer can win you a special ESCMID prize.


The Teams


  • Giacomo Beci, Bologna, Italy
  • Riccardo Pasquali, Bologna, Italy
  • Daniele Riccucci, Bologna, Italy
  • Federica Malerba, Bologna, Italy

Dire Perfect Company

  • Balint Gergely Szabo, Budapest, Hungary
  • Botond Lakatos, Budapest, Hungary
  • Janos Sinko, Budapest, Hungary
  • Eszter Vad, Budapest, Hungary

Fast as ZiehlNeelsen

  • Valentijn Schweitzer, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Maaike van Mourik, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Sonja van Roeden, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Sander Vissers, Utrecht, Netherlands


  • Claudio Neidhöfer, Bonn, Germany
  • Marijo Parcina, Bonn, Germany
  • Julian Balks, Bonn, Germany
  • Anna Schwabe, Bonn, Germany

Himalayan Warriors

  • Shivang Sharma, Jodhpur, India
  • Pooja Shah, Vellore, India
  • Durga Shankar Meena, Jodhpur, India
  • Naresh Kumar Midha, Jodhpur, India


  • Camila Wilhelm, Porto Alegre, Brazil
  • Stephanie Rodrigues de Souza, Albany, USA
  • Dariane Pereira, Porto Alegre, Brazil
  • Nathália Abichabki, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil


  • Özlem Türkmen Recen, Izmir, Turkey
  • Muhammet Kıplapınar, Manisa, Turkey
  • Mervenur Demir, Ankara, Turkey
  • Elif Seren Tanrıverdi, Malatya, Turkey


  • Cécile Meex, Liège, Belgium
  • Julie Descy, Liège, Belgium
  • Coumba Diop, Liège, Belgium
  • Corentin Fontaine, Liège, Belgium

Mission AMR- CRL

  • Vandana Govindan, Bangalore, India
  • Shincy  M R, Bangalore, India
  • Sravani Dharmavaram, Bangalore, India
  • Varun Shamanna, Bangalore, India

NoTimeTo B. fragilis

  • Giorgia Caruana, Lausanne, Switzerland    
  • Florian Tagini, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Ludovico Cobuccio, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Paraskevas Filippidis, Lausanne, Switzerland

"SPICE" Girls

  • Eduarda Pena, Porto, Portugal
  • Sofia Jordão, Porto, Portugal
  • Susana Oliveira, Porto, Portugal
  • Luisa Graça, Porto, Portugal

Team Mumbai

  • Umang Agrawal, Mumbai, India
  • Laxman Jessani, Mumbai, India
  • Shaoli Basu, Mumbai, India
  • Camilla Rodrigues, Mumbai, India


  • Monika Chaudhary, Jodhpur, India
  • Deepak Kumar, Jodhpur, India
  • Navneet Kaur, Jodhpur, India
  • Neetha T R, Jodhpur, India

The buguettes

  • Sarah Dellière, Paris, France
  • Nathan Peiffer-Smadja, Paris, France
  • Yousra Kherabi, Paris, France
  • Hervé Jacquier, Creteil, France

VIM team

  • Alessandro Visentin, Verona, Italy
  • Giulia De Luca, Verona, Italy
  • Rebecca Scardellato, Verona, Italy
  • Alessandro Castelli, Verona, Italy

Zone of Inhibition

  • Uma Chandran, Edmonton, Canada
  • Jamil Kanji, Calgary, Canada
  • Anthony Lieu, Montreal, Canada
  • Ashlesha Sonpar, Zurich, Switzerland

The Judges

Jose RamonPaño Pardo
Suzannevan Asten
Davidvan Duin




The Prize